Tennessee Law and Robotic Surgery Injuries
Tennessee Statute of Limitations
- Negligence: one year from the time client discovers or should have discovered the injury
- Medical Malpractice: one year after date of injury or date of discovery; may not file more than three years from date of negligent act
- Product Liability: one year after injury
- Wrongful Death: one year after date of death
- Survival: one year after injury
Caps on Damages
Medical Malpractice: For causes of action arising in tort, the state shall only be liable for damages up to $300,000 per claimant and $1 million per occurrence.
Product and Pharmaceutical Liability: Tennessee does not limit damages in product liability cases.
Except in cases of wrongful death, the statute of limitations begins to run on the minor’s 18th birthday.
Need More Help?
If you still don’t completely understand how this statute applies to your individual circumstance, you may need some additional expertise to preserve your legal rights. We are happy to work with you and the special facts of your case to ensure the best outcome possible.