Pennsylvania, along with New Jersey and a few other states, is one of the most proactive states in creating and enforcing seatbelt laws that go above and beyond regular federal seatbelt laws. If you are driving or riding in a motor vehicle in this state, learning how the laws apply to you is important.
Pennsylvania’s seatbelt laws are covered under Pennsylvania Title 75, Section 4581. Buckle up in this state – it is the law! After all, these laws are meant to keep you and your passengers safe. Wearing your seatbelt is always the best option, because most seatbelt injuries do not come from the wearing of seatbelts, as some people believe. Seatbelt injuries, in most cases, only come from seatbelt problems with the manufacturer. If this is the case, the law is on your side.
Contact a lawyer using this form right away! Otherwise, here’s what you need to know about seatbelts in PA:
- All drivers of any kind of motor vehicle must be wearing the provided seat belt. Even if you are over 18, you must wear your seatbelt. Injuries can put rescue works at risk at the scene of an accident, and these risks due to injuries increase when you are not wearing a seatbelt.
- All front seat passengers in a passenger car, class I or II truck, or motor home must be wearing the manufacturer’s seatbelt, adjusted to the proper fit. Again, this is to prevent seatbelt injuries and seatbelt problems for not only you, but the rescue workers trying to help you. Seatbelts designs are safe in most cases. If you’ve been injured due to a seatbelt, this is an exception not a rule, and you do have legal rights. Fill out this form to learn more.
- All children under the age of 4 must be in a federally approved car seat with proper restraints. The car seat must be appropriate for the child’s weight and height.
- All children between the ages of 4 and 8 must be buckled into a federally approved car seat that is big enough for them OR must use a booster seat in the right size. This prevents seatbelt injuries due to the seatbelt not fitting correctly.
- All passengers under the age of 18, regardless of where they are sitting, must wear a seatbelt.
- Failure to have a child in a booster seat or car seat will result in fines of up to $100 per child. Failure to have children aged 8-18 wearing a seat belt will result in fines of up to $60 per child.
- If you’re in the front seat and aren’t wearing your seatbelt, you’ll be fined $10 or more. Fines for having more passengers than seat belts also start at $10.
- You cannot be pulled over for failure to wear a seatbelt alone, except in the case of children under four who are not in car seats. This is a secondary offence, meaning that the officer must pull you over for another reason. If, then, you are also not wearing a seatbelt (or others are not adhering to the law), you can get additional tickets.
Remember, wearing your seatbelt is always the best option, as seatbelt injuries and seatbelt problems are less likely to be an issue that injuries and problems during a car crash when you’re not wearing a seatbelt. However, if you’ve experienced a seatbelt malfunction problem, contact us today using this form. You have legal rights and we can help you get the money you deserve.